Nikon F5 and Photo Secretary

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by Marvin, Aug 11, 2012.

  1. Marvin

    Marvin Member

    Messages:
    385
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    Hendersonvil
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I was reading about the Photo Secretary in the Nikon System Handbook and was wondering if any one still uses it. I don't have a cable and was wondering if they are still available. Could this be run on an XP based computer or is the software to old. Just wondering if other F5 users still have this up and running.
    Marvin
     
  2. Chan Tran

    Chan Tran Member

    Messages:
    2,374
    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Yes I use the photo secretary software with a Windows based system. It was designed for Windows 95 but run fine on Windows XP. There is only one problem when running on Windows XP that the setup program couldn't make the short cut on the start menu so you would have to do it yourself. Otherwise it's fine. I bought the Nikon cable but there were some third party cable available. I don't think either the software nor the cable is available any more. If you can find the cable then shoot me a message or email.
     
  3. Bearman

    Bearman Member

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Shooter:
    35mm RF
  4. Chan Tran

    Chan Tran Member

    Messages:
    2,374
    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    Shooter:
    35mm
    Since I don't care much for the shooting data so the MV-1 doesn't work for me. I use the photo secretary mostly for custom settings. Oh, your computer must have a serial port to use it though. I have not tried a usb to serial converter so I don't know if it would work.
     
  5. Marvin

    Marvin Member

    Messages:
    385
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Location:
    Hendersonvil
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Thanks for all the information. A quick search on ebay did not show any MC-33 cables so I guess that would be the hard part. Someone may still have copies of the software laying around. I am a Network Technician so sometimes I have to make up special cables for equipment but I don't know if you could find the connectors or the pinout.
     
  6. Chan Tran

    Chan Tran Member

    Messages:
    2,374
    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    Shooter:
    35mm
    I thought I downloaded the schematic diagram for a homemade cable somewhere but I couldn't find it now. It requires an active circuit and not simply wires and connectors.
    On this webpage there is a cable designed for the F100 but I think it would work with the F5 too.
    http://www.schneordesign.com/Avi/F100/
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2012