Nikon F5 focus point lighting?

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by jphendren, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. jphendren

    jphendren Member

    Messages:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    North Las Ve
    Shooter:
    35mm
    I have read that the selected focus point should become black or somehow stand out when selected. Is this only for the EC-B screen? My particular F5 has the EC-E screen (grid lines), and my selected focus point does not "light up" or do anything to make it stand out. I always have to refer to the top LCD to see which point is active. Anybody here know if this should work with the EC-E screen also?

    Jared
     
  2. airgunr

    airgunr Subscriber

    Messages:
    122
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    Shooter:
    35mm
    I have the (grid lines) which I think is the E screen (I just can't remember...). Anyway, I replaced the original with this one. On both screens the focus point that is selected is basically black as opposed to the grey of the unselected ones. That function should operate independently of the type of screen that is used.

    Does your work with one screen but not the other?
     
  3. jphendren

    jphendren Member

    Messages:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    North Las Ve
    Shooter:
    35mm
    "Does your work with one screen but not the other?"

    I only have the EC-E screen, not the EC-B (original). I just checked, nada. None of the points turn black, they are all just very thin brackets. I wonder if my F5 is broken?

    Jared
     
  4. jphendren

    jphendren Member

    Messages:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    North Las Ve
    Shooter:
    35mm
    This is interesting, I found this here:

    http://www.bythom.com/F5.htm

    "The standard EC-B and the accessory EC-E screens have the 'black points,' while accessory B and E don't have it (as well as all the other accessories)."

    I wonder if I have the "accessory" E screen? Whatever that is? All I know is that my camera has grid lines when I look through the view finder. I also noticed that the little orange arrows that indicate the focus point selected to work, but I'd still like to know why the point itself does not turn black.

    Jared
     
  5. Marc Akemann

    Marc Akemann Subscriber

    Messages:
    1,273
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Does your E screen have electrical connections on one side?

    Marc
     
  6. jphendren

    jphendren Member

    Messages:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    North Las Ve
    Shooter:
    35mm
    "Does your E screen have electrical connections on one side?"

    I'm not sure, I have not removed it. But, I have been doing some reading through the manual, and it turns out only the EC-* series screens have the lit focus points. They have an EC-B, and a E-type screen listed. The E-type "looks" the same, but does not have the ability to enhance/light the focus points. I bought the camera used from KEH, so whoever owned the camera before me probably changed out the focus screen for the E-type. This sucks for me because the EC-B and E screens are pretty pricey, if you can find one.

    Jared
     
  7. Marc Akemann

    Marc Akemann Subscriber

    Messages:
    1,273
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    Shooter:
    Multi Format
    KEH has an EC-B in 'Ex' condition for just $19. Might be worth a call, although, it's not the EC-E you really want.
    For what it's worth, everything I've ordered from KEH in 'Ex' condition was in great condition.

    Marc
     
  8. jphendren

    jphendren Member

    Messages:
    130
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    North Las Ve
    Shooter:
    35mm
    "KEH has an EC-B in 'Ex' condition for just $19."

    Yeah, I saw that too. It sure is tempting. B&H charges over $100 for that screen new. I can't even find an EC-E screen for sale. So for anybody wondering, only the EC-B and EC-E screens give the lit focus point capability. I have the "E-Type" screen.

    Jared