Nikon F90X

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by sandholm, Aug 19, 2010.

1. sandholm

sandholm Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi,

First, want to apologize for the poor English (not my first language), and if my question is breaking any rules, let me know and i remove it.

So, I shoot medium format and large format, but I have always wanted a 35 mm camera because i just dont carry the hasselblad everywhere... (and i want a camera with me, and yes, Leica would be nice... but..)

So I have been offered a Nikon F90X with a Nikon AF 35-80mm D lens and the Nikon MB-10 motor.

The price is 125 euro, the camera looks almost new, the lens have no fungus/mold or scratches (it is without a uv-filter... but looks really good)

So to my questions

1; How is the F90X, should skip and try to get a F5/6 or a F100. I am no pro, but I want equipment that last, and I will be lugging this camera around.
    2; I have large hands... I read somewhere that the F90 is rather small, do anyone out there have a F90x, do you think its uncomfortable to shoot with?
    3; How is this lens? I read that its not really a super lens, but is anyone using one of these?
    4; The price, 125 euro, to much or a good deal?

If you had an option between a F90x and a F100 or a F5, what would you go for?

cheers

2. Colin Corneau

Colin Corneau Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi
    I have owned a Nikon F90x for 15 years. I recommend it highly -- it's quite an underrated camera, in my opinion.

In all that time, it's never needed servicing. This is a camera that was used in my job at a daily newspaper -- literally tens, if not hundreds, of thousands of rolls of film went through it!

It's meter is very accurate, I really can rely on it. It's well-designed, with controls where they need to be. I'm 6'2" and I found it a comfortable camera to work with...you shouldn't have problems handling it.