Nikon SLR for Long exposures

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by SunnyHours, Jul 26, 2011.

1. SunnyHours

SunnyHours Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi everyone!

Since I'm on a tight budget and I can't afford getting a good RF and a new wide angle for my Nikon DSLR, I thought I might combine needs, and get a (smaller than my dslr) 35mm Nikon SLR and a 20mm AF-D lens with it :D

I'm mostly active during the night and I'd love to have a try at Star Trails on film, so long exposures is a must. So is support for AF-D lenses. Aperture priority could be a nice feature to have as well.

As you probably guessed I'm new to film, if I use a film that is faster than the max speed on the camera, I get the meter reading and just compensate with shutter/aperture by the number of stops required?

Also when someone says "I've pushed ASA400 film to ASA800" what does that mean? Did they just double the exposure or does it have a mechanical implication in the camera?
    It'll be my first time with MF so a bright and clear VF is in order :tongue:

I've been looking at the Nikon FG, FG-20 and EM as they are cheaper than the others. What could be a better investment?

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2011
  2. Chan Tran

Chan Tran Member

Shooter:
    35mm