No floor drain for big sink, pumps?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Randy Moe, Aug 12, 2012.

1. Randy Moe

Randy Moe Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have become tired of my tiny bathroom darkroom. Now I have 14 feet of sinks and the floor drain I was going to use is no good and not fixable. Any ideas how to handle large sinks in a condo. It's first floor, cement slab floor with only a bathroom and kitchen. I have been thinking holding tanks, pumps or draining through the wall into the bathtub. I am sure I am not the first with this problem.

The neighbors and association are not a problem as the building is artist owned legal work/live space. 10 years ago the plumber 'forgot' to install my utility sink! I let it pass and now I am lost without it.

2. Vaughn

Vaughn Subscriber

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
  3. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm not an expert in any way, shape or form.

But I do know some people have used the sorts of solutions that people use to put bathrooms and other plumbing in basements, when the sanitary drain for the building is higher than the level of the fixtures that needed draining.

This may give you something of an idea: http://www.saniflo.ca/

4. polyglot

polyglot Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    There are many pumping options, often based on a submersible pump in a tank with a float switch. Goes under sink with drain via P-trap into top, pumps out to wherever. If you want to get heavy, you can buy a "masticating toilet" - same idea but it has a 4" infeed, chews up solids too and pumps it all out. If you go to a local plumbing showroom, they can probably demo a couple systems for you - it's a common problem for people with basements that are below their sewer lines.