Old Jobo Tetanol C-41 Press Kit - spoiled?

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by SkipA, Jul 9, 2011.

1. SkipA

SkipA Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've had a Jobo Tetenol C-41 Press Kit, 1 liter, powdered, that is many years old. I am not sure when I bought it, but probably back in 2003 or so. When I opened the developer packet, I noticed a lot of brown flecks in the powder. When I mixed it with 800ml water as directed, it turned out a somewhat turbid dark amber, almost brown color.

I'm guessing the developer is spoiled, oxidized, even though it was in a sealed foil pouch. Surely the developer shouldn't be brown. But I've never used one of these press kits before, so I figured I'd ask.

Can anyone confirm?

2. SkipA

SkipA Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    After sitting a bit, the turbidity has disappeared. It is now clear, but it has the color of dark apple juice.

3. SkipA

SkipA Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I developed two rolls of 120 Fuji NPS 160, and one roll each 35mm Kodak Portra 160 VC, Supra 100, and Ektar 100. The negs all look good.

4. Sirius Glass

Sirius Glass Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I am going to go out on an limb and say that your old Jobo Tetanol C-41 Press Kit has not spoiled.

Steve

5. SkipA

SkipA Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Based on my results, I'd have to agree. But the proof will be in the printing. Even so, I am not going to push this kit beyond its recommended capacity, just in case that dark colored developer is a sign of aging. Now, time to order some RA-4 chemicals.

I processed this film using 1500 series drums in my Jobo CPP-2 using the Hewes-made Jobo stainless steel reels. I've had the SS reels and cores for years, but this was my first time to use them. I'd always used the plastic reels in the past. The SS reels are a pleasure to use.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2011
  6. tbeaman

tbeaman Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format