Pentax K1000

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by zackesch, Jul 8, 2013.

1. zackesch

zackesch Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Whoo Whoo! My Pentax came in today! Very excited to put it through its paces.

I do have a few questions. First off, When it comes for light tightness, what should I look for? This is my first time using a camera of the sort. The center of the view finder is new to me. This is a non SE model. I was wondering if the center dot has the split prism. I assume its to help for fine focusing. Is there anything else I should look for while putting it through its paces. Oh, I threw in a new light meter battery.

I'd like to add that there is a sticker where the film goes stating that it was last serviced in 05 of '93.

Thanks,

Zack

2. Someonenameddavid

Someonenameddavid Member

Shooter:
    Med. Format RF
    The Pentax K1000SE was sold through specialty stores that could not compete with mass merchandisers cut throat pricing. Same camera give or take cosmetics.

David

3. BrianShaw

BrianShaw Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Wow... or in ebay speak, "recently CLA'd". :laugh:

4. Jon Shiu

Jon Shiu Subscriber

Shooter:
    Plastic Cameras
    Examine the foam light seals where the back closes. Also look at the mirror foam bumper where the mirror swings up.

Jon

5. zackesch

zackesch Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    David, Thats interesting to hear. So the center is a split prism then?

6. mweintraub

mweintraub Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    My other eBay / CL favorite: "It worked the last time I used it [15 years ago]."

7. omaha

omaha Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Awesome camera! I still have mine that I bought new in 1981. Still works perfectly.

8. Pioneer

Pioneer Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format