Pick a Camera seniorio

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by ToddB, May 14, 2013.

1. ToddB

ToddB Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    OK guys,

If you were to go on a trip to Europe for two week or any other cool place. And was given a choice on what camera to use. A 35mm, meduim format or a rangefinder. which would it be and why?

ToddB

2. Alan Gales

Alan Gales Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format
    A Mamiya 7 with 3 lenses.

It's lightweight, portable and has extremely sharp lenses.

3. Paul Goutiere

Paul Goutiere Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have limited experience with this sort of thing but here is my 2 cents:

I went to Cuba last year with Leica rangefinders. Once I was there and seeing the interesting features of the place, the architecture from the 1800s, the
    curious little towns, Havana all that.......I realized two things:

I would have preferred to lug a larger format along and have stayed longer than one week.

4. BradleyK

BradleyK Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Although not a huge fan of zooms (yet I own three...go figure), I would grab my F6 with the 17-35mm ED, 50mm 1.2 and the 80-200mm ED. And, in the interest of peace of mind, I would stash a motor-less F2 in the bag. My choices? The wide and telephoto zooms cover an extensive range on both ends; the 50mm prime for the low light situations that are bound to occur. Combined, the above should cover prtty much anything you would wish to shoot. All the above should fit in a camera bag small enough not to be a bother. Oh, and a good supply of E100G/Provia and HP5/Tri-x...

5. jeffreyg

jeffreyg Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format