Picking a film curve

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by pierods, Nov 24, 2012.

1. pierods

pierods Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi,

today I went out and photographed a friend of mine.

I loaded up some tri-x. We went out to the designed place. I put a grey card to the side of his face and metered. Then I spot metered the middle of his left cheek - he is Japanese, a little dark - meter said half a stop difference - and I started shooting.

The day was very overcast, almost "grey".

Which curve do I pick? (See attached image).

I thought, since the day was so overcast, I can probably go to 9 minutes and not blow any highlight. Correct?

Thanks.

2. pierods

pierods Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Here is the curve. trix.PNG

3. ic-racer

ic-racer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    If you print on multigrade paper, you can use a curve in the middle. If you find yourself printing on 00 or 5 frequently, you can adjust the negative development time for future rolls to give more or less contrast. I'd start with 7 minutes.

4. markbarendt

markbarendt Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I might go 7 then adjust with paper from there.

With roll film I don't move too far from normal.

When shooting sheets (1 & a spare) I still do the first sheet at my norm then decide about sheet 2.

5. Old-N-Feeble

Old-N-Feeble Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'd err slightly to the low contrast side then selenium tone if more contrast is needed.

6. brucemuir

brucemuir Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I don't TMAX dev, I use D76 1+1 and the times are generally in the 9-10 (20c) mark but in this situation I'd opt for a tad more time for some snap.

The only time I don't like TriX is when it's flat in flat light.

7. cliveh

cliveh Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    I would suggest that you ignore the curves and experiment with a film/dev/time/temperature that works for you.

8. pierods

pierods Member

Shooter:
    35mm