Pot Bromide 10%

Discussion in 'Contact Printing' started by RPippin, Oct 7, 2010.

1. RPippin

RPippin Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Not being a chemist, I'm a little lost on how to get 10% Potassium Bromide from the stuff I've bought from Formulary. it's a combination of solids and pellets in a plastic container, but does not say if it is a "percentage" of anything. I'm assuming the solids need to be desolved and mixed with distilled water, but how then do I get to the gram amounts that I need. It would make sense to me that the chemicals already are a 10% makeup and all I need to do is measure out the appropriate amount of grams. Just want to be sure. Thanks.

2. lxdude

lxdude Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Ooooohhhh... I thought the thread title was Pot Brownie! :redface:

I was gonna say 10% might be a bit much...

3. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    If it's solid then you add 100g to water and make up to a litre , or 10g to 100ml water. At the moment it's a solid so 100% :D

Ian

4. RPippin

RPippin Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Thanks guys. And dude, 20% in brownies isn't that much, just don't over do it and eat to much.

5. lxdude

lxdude Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Far out, man...
    :D:D:D

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 7, 2010
  6. Gerald C Koch

Gerald C Koch Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    You don't say how much KBr you purchased. To make a 10% w/v (weight/volume) solution you would dissolve X grams of solid in enough water to make 10X milliliters. So if you purchased 100 grams of KBr you would dissolve this in enough water to make 1000 milliliters. If you purchased 50 grams then you would use enough to make 500 milliliters. For a 10% solution every milliliter will contain 0.1 gram of solid.

7. RPippin

RPippin Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format