Pretty confused with the choice of printing paper.

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by baachitraka, Dec 19, 2011.

1. baachitraka

baachitraka Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I am an absolute beginner in printing, what confuses me right now is how to achieve the tonal ranges with graded paper and Variable Contrast paper.

I was watching some videos and learned that

- Split-grade printing is one method to achieve the full-tonal range with Variable Contrast papers.

Now, if I choose not to go with Variable contrast papers how can I achieve the tonal range with graded(0-5) papers.

2. Simon R Galley

Simon R Galley Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Dear Baachitraka,

Firstly, PM me your home address and I will send you the MULTIGRADE Printing manual that will help.

Variable contrast papers, both FB and RC are the easiest to use, especially if your are looking for a full range of contrast grades, as in graded paper virtually no grade 0 or grade 5 is now made.

Also, if you are just starting out, no paper on earth can make up for a bad neg...work to get a negative to print at grade 2 or grade 3 first...

Simon. ILFORD Photo / HARMAN technology Limited :

3. Jerevan

Jerevan Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    With graded papers, you have to choose the box with the right grade of paper for a certain negative. And if it still doesn't look good, you will have to use different developer combinations or a water bath to achieve "inbetween grades". I am not sure if there are any graded papers left that has the full range (0-5) - I think the most you can get nowadays is grade 2 and 3. In this case you will have to expose and develop the negatives to match the paper grade.