Print Size

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by semrich, Jun 2, 2011.

1. semrich

semrich Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've just started posting photos here and I'm not sure if this is the correct thread to ask this, but question is about enlarging.

I'm new to printing in the darkroom and posting here, I've been posting photos in the gallery, some scans from my early prints and some scans from negatives.

Being new to printing I decided that I would like to print my MF 6X6 negatives and chose 10X10 as a standard.

That poses the following problem for me: My Epson 750 flatbed scanner is only 9" at it's widest. I compose in the camera and a 1" crop top and sides keeping the 6X6 proportions often cuts into important elements of the image. The same also applies to larger 35mm prints I'm making.

I want to post more scanned prints here so the question is twofold: how are members digitizing their prints to post here and what size prints are usually made.

I'd prefer to not make smaller prints just so I can post them in the gallery.

I would appreciate your input and suggestions.

2. R gould

R gould Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    The size you print to is very much a personal thing, I prefer a smaller print, I think that a smaller print mounted in a large mount looks great, and I use 91/2x12 paper and tend very often to print full frame, which for 6x6 is around an actual print size of 8inx8in, as I like to have a large border around my prints when matted,
    Richard

3. markbarendt

markbarendt Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    There are "digital handheld scanners" :wink: that many of us, or someone in our family has.

Take the print outside into some nice sun, lay it down on a mat board on the deck or patio or sidewalk and scan. :whistling:

4. ooze

ooze Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Richard,