Printing night time shots - how's it done?

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by IloveTLRs, Jan 3, 2011.

1. IloveTLRs

IloveTLRs Member

Shooter:
    Sub 35mm
    Hello

I've been printing for a couple of months now, but I'm still having trouble with night time shots. I like to shoot at night, by street light, and would like to print some photos but they're just not coming out. The darks are fine, but I'm loosing the lights.

My enlarger is setup at f8. I've been doing test strips, but they're not coming out either :pouty:

Can someone tell me what the secret is? Longer exposure, shorter exposure? Different f-stop on the enlarger lens?

I use Fujiblo paper and either Dektol or Korektol-E.

2. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It's likely your negatives are too thin, probably under exposed. Ideally you need to post some images, try stopping down a bit more to f11 or ven f16 and see what happens, increase the paper grade if necessary.

Ian

3. hpulley

hpulley Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Graded or variable contrast paper? What grade? What exposure time? What developer time?

4. IloveTLRs

IloveTLRs Member

Shooter:
    Sub 35mm
    Okay, I'll try stopping down next time and see if that helps.

5. degruyl

degruyl Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    If you are losing highlights, you are probably exposing the paper too much. Also consider increasing the contrast (I'm unfamiliar with the particular paper you are using and whether it is VC or graded).