Printing with Fred Picker

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by ParkerSmithPhoto, Jan 22, 2013.

1. ParkerSmithPhoto

ParkerSmithPhoto Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Would you like to see "an immediate and dramatic improvement in your print quality"? Fred Picker will be happy to help. All you have to do is read the attached handy-dandy pamphlet entitled, with great imagination, "Printing with Fred Picker."

This was in a pile of darkroom goodies I acquired over the weekend. I figured it would either bring back fond memories or promote the general welfare of silver prints in America and, either way, that it couldn't hurt to post it. :cool:

It's a little too big to post on APUG, so you can download it here. Enjoy! And let me know if it helps.

2. fotch

fotch Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hey, thanks.

3. Chris Johnson

Chris Johnson Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Thanks for sharing. I have been printing for many years but this method looks like the best rational way to arrive at a quality image.

4. pinholer

pinholer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Ahh yes, I had forgottern about Fred Picker. When I got interested in large format photography, I read Pickers books and subscribed to his newsletters. Other excellent sources of information on technique were Ansel Adams books and the article written by Howard Bond.

Picker was, I believe, first and foremost, a salesman of his products. He was always opinionated (what salesman isn't) but henerally had some good ideas and a fairly sound basis for doing what he did. If you run across his books or, better yet, a set of his newsletters get them. The information in them is timeless.

Another good source, especially for the technically inclined, are the articles that Howard Bond wrote for the old Darkroom Photography. I don't know if Howard still gives his classes or not but the articles used to be available at the classes.

5. kbrede

kbrede Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format