Prints look bad!

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by mporter012, Jan 21, 2013.

1. mporter012

mporter012 Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    I'm new to film and I haven't learned how to print yet, so I sent 5 rolls to the local shop to get developed and printed just to see how things looked with my lenses ect. I shot digital for some time, so I understand exposure and have many qualified digital prints, so I'm not sure what went wrong.

Every print, for the most part, looks like hell. Seems like some have no clarity or the ink smeared or something and almost every photo is very middle grey looking. No real blacks or whites.

Why is this? My paps thinks it's probably because they use a machine to print everything.

Thanks -

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 21, 2013
  2. polyglot

polyglot Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    It's because whoever made the prints is incompetent and/or didn't care. If you want good prints, you either need to do it yourself or go to a top-tier professional lab - the Local Shop* no longer cuts it. The minilabs can produce excellent prints, but they require a skilled operator to do that whereas your average corner store uses a (probably just toilet-)trained monkey.

It's also possible you made some error like underexposure that would make it very difficult to get good prints from your negatives.

* for Local People

3. pentaxuser

pentaxuser Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    Where are you? Some local shops/labs are very poor and APUGers can give you sources of processing and printing but there's no point unless we know where you are.

I take it that these are B&W prints from B&W negs but are the prints silver gelatin, RA4 balanced for B&W prints or inkjets?

If you are in the U.K. try Ilford's service. Proper processing and silver gelatin paper. If the prints from Ilford are poor then you can conclude that it was your exposure. I have seen Ilford's care and professionalism and it is second to none

pentaxuser