Processing 4x5 film?

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by stradibarrius, Feb 17, 2011.

1. stradibarrius

stradibarrius Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I have lots of experience processing B&W film so this question relates to the equipment needed to process 4x5 sheet film. I have tanks and reels to process roll film and know how to use them.
    If you had no, LF tank, LF tubes etc to process sheet film and could start fresh, what type of processing tank, tray or tube would you invest in.
    I have seen some videos for the BTZS tubes that seem easy to make and use. Of course I can use my trays that I develop my prints in.

looking for your favorite method?

2. Jesper

Jesper Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    You could try with open trays. Of course it requires total darkness, but you will have total control of the process and you don't have to buy anything right now (I assume that you have some darkroom stuff already).
    That said, a daylight tank is nice (but in my experience more risky).

3. paul_c5x4

paul_c5x4 Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Paterson Orbital would be my first choice, unfortunately no longer in production and probably as rare as rocking horse poo in the USA.
    Second choice would be a Jobo 2500 tank with a 2509 reel. The third choice would be a set of three Combiplan tanks so that I could run a small dip'n'dunk line.

4. Rick A

Rick A Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I develope in an AP brand plastic two reel tank ala "taco" method. I have a daylight tank that holds 12 sheets, but I usually only shoot two or four sheets at any time, so it just sits.

5. jnanian

jnanian Advertiser Advertiser

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  6. Shawn Dougherty

Shawn Dougherty Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Slosher Tray - see link. Wouldn't trade mine for anything....

Good luck!

Shawn

7. holmburgers

holmburgers Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format