Professional Bronica Photographers

Discussion in 'Photographers' started by mporter012, Sep 8, 2013.

1. mporter012

mporter012 Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    Were/are there any well regarded professionals that used any Bronica's? Or were they more designed as a price point mass market box camera?

2. wildbill

wildbill Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    wedding photographers weren't/aren't well regarded:smile:

3. Nathan Riehl

Nathan Riehl Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I bought mine as an alternative to buying Hassy equipment because it was far too expensive for me. I don't know anyone else that shoots Bronica. I'm a college student and there are other people that shoot film in the program I'm in, but none of them shoot medium format. The teacher for my current class, Marilyn Cook, has been shooting for years and used a Bronica setup apparently. She also apparently kept her system and uses one of her lenses on her Canon DSLR with an adapter.

4. ParkerSmithPhoto

ParkerSmithPhoto Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Well, there's me.

Other than that, no. But what difference does it make if I shoot Bronica and Master Photographer X shoots Haaselblad? The brain makes the photograph not the camera.

5. mporter012

mporter012 Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    Well, I'm just curious is all.

6. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    In most cases we know that certain professional photographers shoot with Hasselblad/Mamiya/Contax because Hasselblad/Mamiya/Contax advertised that fact.

Bronica used to advertise, but not as much.

7. lxdude

lxdude Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    And having attended exactly one wedding in my life, I believe they should be afforded the highest respect. I offered to wrangle semi-drunk (and very drunk) people at the reception to help him, and he was most grateful. I could not be paid enough to deal with what they deal with.

8. Stephen Frizza

Stephen Frizza Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format