Question about asymmetric tilts

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Michael R 1974, Aug 16, 2013.

1. Michael R 1974

Michael R 1974 Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The view cameras I've used all had base tilts so I have no experience with asymmetric. I know everyone has their preferences, but I'm trying to figure out if there is ever an advantage to base tilts vs (fixed axis) asymetric tilts when focusing. The applications I'm concerned with are landscape/urban landscape and architetcure. Not close-up or studio work.

Thoughts?

2. Mark_S

Mark_S Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    On my camera I can tilt the lens in two ways, one is a base tilt, and one is rotating across the axis of the lens. I do mostly landscape, and use movement mostly to adjust the plane of focus, rather than perspective control.

In the end both axis and base tilt do the same thing, but most of the time, I prefer the axis tilts since they are more independent of focus.

I usually set up the camera, and focus on one portion of the image (point A) that I want in focus, I then add movement to bring a second point (point B) that I want in focus into sharp focus, then go back and adjust focus to get point A back into focus, and iterate until both points are in sharp focus at the same time, then adjust aperture to pull everything else that I want into focus, and expose. When using base tilt, I find that after I do the movement to bring point B into focus, there is more focus adjustment needed to get point A back, and more iterative steps until I have both in sharp focus.

3. AgX

AgX Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Asymmetric tilt gives

-) a larger way over which to move the outer part of the image into focus

-) (in case of adjustable tilt axis) the ability to place the axis at one point that needs to be in focus and then swing it untill the other important pont is in Focus.
    Then the framing can easily be corrected again. Makes life easy...