Question about film scanners and negatives

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by bellalee, Mar 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bellalee

bellalee Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I'm new to APUG and relatively new to 35mm colour film photography so please excuse if this is a stupid question to ask and/or in the wrong forum xD

I am interested in purchasing a film scanner but wondering what the process is for scanning the negatives? how do you get the negatives in the first place?
    Does the film canister have to be taken to a shop and be processed? Or can you do it all at home with the film scanner?

I sent an email to a company and they said you could do it straight from the camera to printer but I want to clarify this because I was lead to believe film is light sensitive- thats how it works right.

Thanks,
    Bella :smile:

2. Ektagraphic

Ektagraphic Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Well welcome. All film will need to be processed wether you set up your own darkroom or bring it to a lab. DO NOT(!!!) Just open up a film cassette because you will ruin the images within....The film scanner is simply a device to get the images into your computer so that you can work with them that way. You amy want to start out by having a lab process and print or process and scan your first few rolls.

Patrick

3. bellalee

bellalee Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Thanks Patrick :smile:
    Also another question,
    Is just getting the negatives processed at a lab cheaper than getting the standard 4x6 prints as well?

4. flashgumby

flashgumby Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi Bella,

The relative cost difference between process-only and process-and-print is really dependent upon where you get them done. At some labs, the extra cost of the prints is insignificant, but others might charge quite a bit more.