RA-4 kits not available

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by tkauyong, Nov 21, 2013.

1. tkauyong

tkauyong Member

Shooter:
    Med. Format RF
    I am a amateur using the Tetanal Colortec RA-4 for processing in the Jobo CPP-2. I am living in Hong Kong and used to get it from B&H Photo of the USA. However, the kit is no longer available in B&H photo. I tried to get it from somewhere else but found out that it cannot be sent overseas now, even available. The B&H photo guy advised me to get the Tetanl RA-4 Color Developer Starter. I am confused. Is the starter to be used with the developer replenisher instead of using alone. Please advice.

The place I am living is lack of chemicals for home processing. Is there any alternative. It seems that the airflight rule for chemicals has tightened as I still could get them shipped a few years ago. I do not want give up my own darkroom. It's sad.

2. AgX

AgX Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Starter is an add-on to the replenisher to make original developer.
    A starter is not intended to be used alone to act as developer.

I'm surprised that you did not try to buy locally instead of having it sent from the USA.
    Fuji has an Office in Hong Kong. You may inquire there for their RA-4 chemicals.
    You might also try to buy chemicals from a minilab.

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 21, 2013
  3. EdSawyer

EdSawyer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Also, check the sticky thread here about color chemistry and where to get it. There should be somewhere more local, as mentioned.

4. DREW WILEY

DREW WILEY Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    Fuji-Hunt chem would probably be better quality anyway, and should be available worldwide.

5. CatLABS

CatLABS Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Champion photocheimtry is available locally in Hong Kong.

6. AJH

AJH Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    And then why does B&H import Tetenal from Germany. While the dollar rate is not favourable at all.