RC vs FB

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by Anthony J. Martinez, Jun 11, 2011.

1. Anthony J. Martinez

Anthony J. Martinez Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I've got quite a lot of fiber paper, courtesy of a fellow APUG member, but I've never used fiber paper before - only resin coated. Are there additional steps required, or do things just take a bit longer in the various trays?

(I assume this will answer itself once I finish 'The Negative' and move on to 'The Print' - but I figure I'll fish for brief answer first).

2. tony lockerbie

tony lockerbie Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    That's it, the FB takes longer to develop and especially to wash. Where RC only takes a couple of minutes, the FB takes up to an hour to wash, much less if you use a washaid. Much has been written about the various merits of both, I much prefer the look and feel of FB, and always use it when doing large prints.
    Really it is no harder to ues, just takes longer is all, and if the stuff is free....well go for it!

3. Anthony J. Martinez

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Excellent.

4. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    As compared to RC, FB paper requires you to be much more careful with stop baths/water rinses, fixing times and capacities, use of wash aids and washing. There are lots of threads about those subjects here on APUG, so some "wandering" through this forum and the Black and White forum is a good idea.

5. johnnywalker

johnnywalker Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Drying FB paper is a bit of a problem due to it curling. There are threads on the drying methods for FB and I'm sure a search will find them. In a nutshell, you can't just hang them up to dry. One solution is putting the print between sheets of blotting paper and piling books on top for weight, and another is taping the picture to glass with butcher's tape. I do the latter. More expensive solutions usually involve print dryers.

6. Anthony J. Martinez

Shooter: