Reccommend a 35mm camera to me

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by RabbitHeartedGirl, Sep 5, 2010.

1. RabbitHeartedGirl

RabbitHeartedGirl Member

Shooter:
    Plastic Cameras
    Hi everyone

I'm new to analogue photography and I am currently using a medium format camera, however I would love to use 35mm but have no idea where to start! Please excuse my total ignorance. I'd like a simple camera that will get me started in the world of 35mm analogue photography, if anyone can give me any advice at all I would really really appreciate it.

RHG

2. Les Sarile

Les Sarile Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    As a reference, what MF camera do you have now? Are you looking for autofocus or manual? Auto exposure - full or limited, or full manual only?

Also, rangefinder (fixed or interchangeable lens) or SLR?

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 5, 2010
  3. RalphLambrecht

RalphLambrecht Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    RHG

Welcome to APUG. Without mentioning your area of photography and if you have a preference for automatic, manual, rangefinder or SLR, these types of requests don't work very well. You will undoubtably get as many recommendations as there are cameras.

Used analog cameras are cheap these days. Pick a name-brand model and start with the focal length equivalent of what you used with your MF camera. There isn't much you can do wrong and the financial investment will be small. If you don't like it, you can sell it again.

Now watch and see how everyone promotes what they use or have:

4. M.A.Longmore

M.A.Longmore Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Welcome To APUG,

Hi R.H.G.,

I'm leaving to go on vacation in a few minutes.
    I would recommend any of the Minolta cameras,
    that's what I use. An XE-7 if you can get one.
    Or an SRT-202 would be an excellent choice.
    Depending on the features that you need.
    We have 43,600 members. You will have at least
    5,287 recommendations within the next 24 Hours.