recommendations for 4x5 dev w/rodinal?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by djkloss, Oct 7, 2005.

1. djkloss

djkloss Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I just started playing with my dad's speedgrafic. I'd like to try using rodinal with efke. i'm starting with tray developing small quantities. I read that you shouldn't use an acid stop with this film. so I need suggestions for two things... rodinal & ... what are the options for non acid stop baths?

Thanks! any suggestions would be great!

Dorothy

2. Ole

Ole Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Large Format
    I've done lots of films in Rodinal recently - all ISO100 films seem to be fair in Rodinal 1+25 for 10 minutes.

I never use stop bath at all, just water.

3. dphphoto

dphphoto Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi: you can use water. If you want, use a deeper tray than you use for dev and fix, and agitate the film for a minute or so just as you'd agitate in the dev and fix.
    To be extra safe, you could clamp a hose to the tray and run the water at a low flow rate to get a continual change of water.
    I haven't used acid stop on film since the late '70's, when I read that Judy Dater used a water stop (in "Darkroom" or "Darkroom 2," I forget which.) It's a lot easier on film.
    Which efke? Rodinal is great; so is HC110 in dilutions weaker than dilution B. Welcome to 4X5!!

4. reellis67

reellis67 Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I too use water for a stop bath. Since I use TF-4 fixer, which according to the manufacturer should not be used with an acid stop, with all films and I've never had any problems.

- Randy

5. P C Headland

P C Headland Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I use a water stop bath for Efke and Classic Pan films.