Recording exposure

Discussion in 'Exposure Discussion' started by ghinson, Oct 23, 2004.

1. ghinson

ghinson Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I'm new at this, and I have a simple question. When you're shooting, how do you record what your exposure settings are, so you can refer back to it when you're looking at the negatives (in my case, to learn)? Is there a printed template form that you use? A memo book pre-printed with the proper information? Just a little memo pad? I haven't been able to find anything online. Help me organize this.

Thanks,

Greg Hinson

2. Jim Moore

Jim Moore Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
  3. BWGirl

BWGirl Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hey Greg!
    I have found one of the best little tools you can ues is one of those small tape recorders. It only takes a second to 'tell' it what you are shooting, the exposure and even a wee bit about conditions. You can transcribe the info you need later at your leisure!

4. anyte

anyte Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I tried using a voice activated recorder but I found it hard to sit down and transfer my babbling into useful readable information. I also found that I wasn't very aware of which details I was noting and thus didn't always record all the information I could have used.

I now use a small memo book, which fits into the pocket on my camera bag.

Here's a short sample of what I write:

10/10/04
    Kodak Gold 100
    Louisville Swamp
    1:46 PM

Clear skies, bright sun, no haze. 29-100mm

Twin Trees - trees are roughly 30' apart. @50mm
    27) 250 f/11 (noted the angle of the sun in relation to the subject)
    28) 250 f/11 warming filter
    29) 45 f/11 warming polarizer
    30) 250 f/5.6 warming polarizer

Twin Trees - second set. Trees are roughly 10' apart. @50mm
    31) 250 f/5.6 wm pl ​