reels for JOBO 1520?

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by jdhart73, Feb 7, 2011.

1. jdhart73

jdhart73 Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I picked up a JOBO 1520 tank that came with a plastic reel that does not have the ball bearings and its kind of tricky to load. My question is, will any plastic reel work with this particular tank? I just want the easiest loading possible since I am new to this!

Thanks,
    Jake

2. paul_c5x4

paul_c5x4 Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format
    The Paterson reels are of a larger diameter, so no - Any old reel will not fit in the Jobo tank.
    To be honest, I don't have any trouble loading my Jobo reel with 120 film.

3. Sirius Glass

Sirius Glass Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The plastic Jobo reels are available at FreeStyle, at least at there Sunset Boulevard Store if not web page. They are an APUG supporter.

Steve

4. Ed Sukach

Ed Sukach Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    JOBO reels do not have the ball-and-ramp system (probably patented by Paterson). A couple of things may help: first, disassemble the JOBO reel and scrub the tracks - I've found that a toothbrush and ordinary toothpaste works well. Second, be careful NOT to squeeze the outer edges of the reel together as you feed the film between them. Third ... It pays to drive your wife/ husband, significant other ... yourself... up the walls as you practice, practice, practice loading a sacrificed roll of film - keep your eyes closed to simulate the darkroom.
    "Muscle memory" is invaluable here.

I've used these puppies for ten? ... twenty? years now and have only misloaded three rolls of 120 - NONE! lately, despite being acutely and chronically clumsy.

5. jdhart73

jdhart73 Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format