(Relative) Portability of the RB67?

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Steve Mack, Apr 17, 2010.

1. Steve Mack

Steve Mack Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    So, if I wanted to add the Mamiya RB67 to my growing collection:smile:, how portable is it? I already own a Mamiya 645Pro, which is fairly easy to lug around. I don't plan to use it for street photography, although I have read of some people using it for just that. But how about lugging to a site? I try to avoid walking more that half a mile. If I have to go more than that I just might decide it really isn't worth it. I'm looking for some portability at my age!:D

Thanks to all who reply.

With best regards,

Stephen

2. rszumski

rszumski Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Mamiya RB67 portability? Hahahahahahah! I have been using one for over 2 years as an amateur and I would describe this beast as an iron loaf of bread! The image output is outstanding however. Seriously now, I have used this camera out in the field and as long as you are willing to be transporting it in the trunk of your car along with a tripod, it is transportable. It weighs about 5 1/2 pounds with a 90 mm lens. You will want to use a tripod to get the best resolution out of the camera. If I were looking for a hand-held medium format I would prefer a Mamiya 6 or 7 or other equivalent rangefinder. Having said all this, I swear I saw Annie Liebovitz handling hand holding an RB67 (same form factor and weight) at Obama's inauguration!! She must be mighty strong. So for 'lugging it to a site', I find it worth the effort. Street photography, not a great choice.
    Roman

3. mopar_guy

mopar_guy Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Maybe you could get a gym membership.:rolleyes:

4. 2F/2F

2F/2F Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format