Rodinal: For Film as well as Prints?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by DF, Nov 23, 2012.

1. DF

DF Member

Why/what is so great about this Developer? Is it for both developing film a swell as printmaking?

2. eddie

eddie Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It's known primarily as a film developer, but can be used as a paper developer. In my bromoil research, I came up with at least one reference to using it for paper. I have no personal experience using it for paper, though.

3. tony lockerbie

tony lockerbie Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Never used it as a paper dev, but as Eddie has said, there probably is no reason why you can't if you made the concentration much higher. Rodinal is obviously of most use as a film dev where it excels as a high acutance developer. Films developed in Rodinal have good edge sharpness at the cost of higher grain, which can become quite pronounced in higher speed films. Some people love this look and regularly use it for films like Tri-X. I personally use it for Pan-F, diluted to 1:50.
    The other advantage of Rodinal is the keeping properties and economy. Dilutions up to 1:100 are possible although it is more commonly used at 1:25 or 1:50.The concentrate seems to last forever, which is another reason why I love it.

4. eddie

eddie Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I just looked up the bromoil article I mentioned. It recommended 1:25, or 1:30, though the author hadn't tried it either.

5. Tjack

Tjack Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Lately I've been using R09 for the Adox CHS 50 speed film with good results. I typically use 500ml in a 1:100 ratio in a tank using the agitation method at 19-20 minutes. Thats only 5ml solution to develop, pretty economical and I like the results and the slower time seems to give a better result.

6. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format