Rolleiflex and "modern" tripods

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by jasonjoo, Dec 9, 2007.

1. jasonjoo

jasonjoo Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    SORRY! Hit the enter key on accident.

Title should read: Rolleiflex and "modern" tripods

I'll be receiving my (new to me) Rolleiflex 3.5E shortly. I do have a 3/16" quick release adaptor plate for my Manfrotto ball head. I was wondering if there would be any issues with using this quick release plate.

Is a RolleiFIX necessary?

(Haha, I caught myself asking if the tripod mount would be able to hold the Rolleiflex in "portrait" orientation, but I remembered that the Rolleiflex is a 6x6 camera... Duh! Sorry guys, I'm new to the MF world (and the film world!)).

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 9, 2007
  2. BrianShaw

BrianShaw Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Rolleifix is not necessary but is very useful, but redundant with your quick-release head. For convenience you might consider getting an extra plate and mount it to the camera once-and-for-all. Once you start using a quick-release of any type you'll not stop. I use Rolleifix and "Hasselblad-fix" every time I shoot with those cameras.

3. jasonjoo

jasonjoo Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Thanks Brian. I should pick up a few more quick release plates. I have 2 other cameras that could use one.

4. David A. Goldfarb

David A. Goldfarb Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Thread title updated.

5. jasonjoo

jasonjoo Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Thanks David, I appreciate it.

BTW, what's the benefits of the Rolleifix? I heard sometimes you can damage the bottom or back (can't remember) of the Rolleiflex with a normal tripod mount.

6. David H. Bebbington

David H. Bebbington Inactive

Shooter:
    Medium Format