Russian lenses?

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by spiralcity, Sep 28, 2007.

1. spiralcity

spiralcity Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    How many people own a Russian made 35mm lens?
    Comments abouit the quality would be appreciated.

I've been looking at a MIR M-42 on ebay. Im just not sure I want to experiment with old Russian technology.

The lens was priced to sell, it just may be worth the buy. Im at a cross -roads.

2. Lee Shively

Lee Shively Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I recently was bitten by the Russian/Ukranian camera bug. Thus far, I've felt free to experiment freely since the cost is low and the results, thus far, have been very pleasing.

I have no experience with the MIR. I have a couple of Kiev's that I enjoy using even though "state-of-the-art" they are not. They are very 1930's technology but they're fun. I have several normal lenses for the Kiev's--Jupiter-8 and Helios-103--some are poor at wide apertures but get better stopped down and some are very good across the board. I especially like the Jupiter-8. I also have two 39mm Leica thread mount lenses--Industar-22 and Industar-61LD. I use these on Leica M bodies with adapters and, I must admit, both are excellent lenses. The Industar-22 is over 50 years old and flares wildly under backlit conditions but it makes some nice images under normal conditions.

I believe all the Russian/Ukranian lenses made after WWII were based on Zeiss designs although they made lots of cameras that were Leica copies. The Industar-22 I have looks like a collapsible Elmar but, inside, it is reportedly a Tessar design. Those more experienced than myself agree there is a lot of variation in the quality of the lenses from sample to sample but good ones are really good.

3. Xmas

Xmas Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    The Ru lenses are ok they are real cheap. They may have been loved or mistreated...

Noel

4. Ole

Ole Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Large Format