Same tray of water for stop and final rinse?

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by teekoh, Dec 1, 2013.

1. teekoh

teekoh Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi I'm new to black and white printing and was wondering is it a bad idea to use the same tray of running water for a "stop" and for a rinse after fixing an image if the water is constantly running?

Thanks.

2. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Not a good idea and it's advisable to use a stop bath for prints as there's far more carry over, you ideally want the developer neutralised.

Ian

3. ROL

ROL Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm assuming that you are primarily concerned with conserving space in your sink. People do, and are advised by some manufacturers to, use a "running water" stop, before fixing. If you can ensure a complete exchange of water, which can be quite different from running water, I think it at least theoretically feasible to use the the same tray for both. Some amount of testing may be advisable if your looking for some archival standard. But, I recall fill and dump of chemicals in trays in short space processing as being an available option many years ago.

4. David A. Goldfarb

David A. Goldfarb Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Consider stacking your trays, if you need more space. Housewares stores sell things like expandable stainless steel racks for more efficient use of cabinet space, and they can work well for stacking two 11x14" trays.

5. teekoh

teekoh Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi Ian, I'm using Photographers Forumlary's TF-4 non-hardening fixer and on the label it says to just use water as a stop.

6. teekoh

teekoh Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format