Schneider or Rodenstock Enlarging Lens?

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by brian steinberger, Dec 10, 2011.

1. brian steinberger

brian steinberger Subscriber

Shooter:
    Med. Format RF
    I currently have a Schneider 100mm/5.6 Componon-S for my 6x6 and 6x4.5 work. I'm looking at getting an 80mm for larger enlargements. My first thought was to just get the 80mm/5.6 Componon-S, but I took a look a some of the Rodenstock lenses, and while more expensive got great reviews. So now I'm wondering if I'm missing anything. Much difference between the Compnon-S and the Rodenstock enlarging lenses?

2. lightwisps

lightwisps Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    I like the Componon S lenses.

3. Mustafa Umut Sarac

Mustafa Umut Sarac Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    Brian ,

I worked as a photograph printer at a lab , there were 3 newly bought Rodenstocks and I printed 100 000 negatives with them. Red color was hard to control and my other lab printer was keeping coming and asking how to control the reds taken at studio lights. Camera and lens Mamiya 80 mm. They were excellent at daylight but dimlight prints were hot. But I saw Rodenstock BW prints and they were excellent , great blacks and sharp whites. Rodenstock is the best bw enlarger lens I have ever seen.

I owned Schneider lenses and They were not sharp as Rodenstock and blue color was greyish. They render differently and looks old technology.

And I lost control of my hand at darkroom and Rodenstock flied from 2 meters to concrete ground. All leafs messed. I swithched the controls and everything turned normal. I said great engineering saved me.

For daylight and BW , Rodenstock is true winner.

But dimlight is orange color was strong .

Umut

4. bdial

bdial Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Ctein did a critcal comparison test of enlarging lenses which is presented in Post Exposure and available on his website for free now.