Should I Make the Move to Graded Fiber Paper?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by kristopher_lawrence, Mar 16, 2008.

1. kristopher_lawrence

kristopher_lawrence Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi everyone,

I need some advice. I have been doing darkroom work extensively for about 8 months.

I used mostly Ilford and Agfa (my favorite!) resin coated variable contrast papers. I was really pleased with the results. However, I just tried a sample of old (prob 20 years +) agfa grade 3 fiber paper. I was stunned with the results.

I found that the gradation between shadows and highlights to be absolutely lovely. I my eye, they seem better than using multicontrast papers/filters. I found that the hightlights are more difficult to block (in a condenser enlarger) too.

First, is my perception pretty common, or am I completely crazy?

Second, is this lovely tonal range due to the fact that the paper is graded or that it is fiber?

I will definitely make the move to fiber and/or graded papers, but what sould I look for? Will multicontrast fiber paper give me these results or I should go for graded?

I would also have impressions on fiber papers, I don't like glossy finish, I prefer semi-matt. But since a lot of graded fb papers seem to be glossy, I am wondering is the glossy finish is the same as resin-coated ones.

Going back in the darkroom,

Thanks for your answers to this bunch of newbie interrogations,

Kris

2. David A. Goldfarb

David A. Goldfarb Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Large Format
    It's both because it's fiber and because it's graded, and probably you've got a good stash of an older paper like Brovira.