Shutter speed limitations

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by hoakin1981, Mar 6, 2014.

1. hoakin1981

hoakin1981 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I am considering various 645 models for my 1st MF buy. I am leaning towards a Mamiya 645 Pro since it seems to have the best value for money/specs/quality ratio.

However, the more I snoop around the more new brands/models show up I did not know about with pretty good/lower than the Mamiya prices.

Many have almost all necessary specs at least IMO (mirror locking, metering, changeable backs etc) but they seem to have one serious limitation, a low top shutter speed of 1/500 or even 1/400.

I've been shooting digital for about 5 years now so with my D300s which has 1/8000 top shutter speed I never had such issues. With my old Pentax MX I can go up to 1/1000 which I trust it is fast enough for almost any situation, but 1/500 or 1/400 is a whole different case.

So, I would like some feedback as to how actually limiting are such speeds on everyday use.

Yes, there are various ways of overcoming this limitation on a brightly lit situation like stopping down or using a filter etc. but this might compromise image quality which voids the whole point of having a MF camera IMO.

All thoughts on the matter most welcome with many thanks in advance. :wink:

2. mauro35

mauro35 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Medium format film, being significantly bigger than 35mm, has inherently shallower depth of field, meaning that, in general, MF lenses have maximum diafragm aperture ratios that are smaller than 35mm lenses. This usually leads to slower shutter speeds needed to gather the same amount of light. Therefore, unless using ISO 1600/3200 film in very sunny conditions I would not see top shutter speeds of 1/500th of a second to be very limiting in real life situations. In the very specific cases in which such shutter speeds are required, then it is possible to use neutral density filters.