Some enlarging questions

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by NDP_2010, Sep 11, 2010.

1. NDP_2010

NDP_2010 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I am new to the world of film printing and have done some black and whites.

I am curious with a few questions.

What is the advanatage of stopping down an enlarging lens? Is there any advanatage in having a fast enlarging lens?

I also have a few questions about exposure time.

I noticed that i left a few pictures enlarging for too long and the contrast was quite low and the picture was very dark. I tried a shorter time and the picture had much more contrast.

If i enlarge for a short period of time, does this mean highlight details will not be captured? If i have a picture where the forground is quite dark, can i ever effectively recapture these details while keeping the picture relatively contrasty or is it impossible as the picture was not taken correctly.

Thanks.

2. Marek Warunkiewicz

Marek Warunkiewicz Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi, here are some answers...

***What is the advantage of stopping down an enlarging lens?***

Better sharpness from edge to edge. Most lenses have a sweet spot of sharpness/acutance etc around 2 or 3 stops down from the most wide aperture.

***Is there any advantage in having a fast enlarging lens?***

Yes there is. basically it concerns the point above and printing speed. When you have a 2.8 lens and stop down two stops you get 5.6. Assume your time to get a good print is 12 seconds at 5.6. If you had a 5.6 lens and you stopped it down to 11, your time would be 48 seconds. It's all about the exposure time.

The ***dark contrast print*** question has more to do with your negative and contrast filter. To really answer that question we would need to know the paper used, time(s) of exposure of the different prints, developer and time in developer, the contrast filter used (if any) and ideally a scan of the negative prints.