Some Kodak T-MAX100 - 120 help

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by /dev/null, Nov 3, 2011.

1. /dev/null

/dev/null Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I'm an analog newbie and the weekend I am going to shoot some landscapes, trees and stuff with the T-MAX100. Probably a bit of cloudy weather. I am looking for contrast rich results and did some reading on development, so probably will do it in Rodinal.

Any thoughts on the preffered ISO setting for this film? Like they say the Ilford 3200 goes on 1600 for instance. I just measure ISO100? Thanks.

2. Mackinaw

Mackinaw Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    If you're new to film and processing, I'd experiment some first. Exposing Tmax-100 at an E.I. of 100 is a good starting point. As for developers, Rodinal is OK too. If you want to impact contrast, you can do that in the development process by extending the development time 10% - 20%. Shoot a roll and see what happens.

Jim B.

3. markbarendt

markbarendt Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    If you haven't used a combo, any combo, the best place to start IMO is with the box rating and normal development. You can adjust contrast when you print.

Printing is the real test, adjusting the negative's contrast really only makes sense when you are trying to make your printing easier.

One of the big mistakes I made when coming back to film was trying to make pretty "contrasty" negatives, because I wasn't printing yet and I wanted something to look good. :D

Yes, those early B&W negatives are "prettier" to look at directly but they are really much tougher to print. In contrast to that my early C-41 negatives, which were developed "by the book" are quite easy to print. My current B&W negs which are now generally shot and developed pretty much "by the book" print much, much easier.

4. michael_r

michael_r Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format