Split Filters for Dummies....

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by Pfiltz, Jan 16, 2013.

1. Pfiltz

Pfiltz Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I mean rookies... That would be me !

Bare with me. I'm new to enlarging and printing. LOVE to print, but still cutting my teeth.

I know when you shoot, you usually meter for the shadows, and then print for the highlights, or that's what I've been doing with my b/w film.

I heard some folks mentioning split filters so today, I thought I would try it on a still life image I want to print.

My base exposure is around 9 seconds. So my first exposure was with a 0 filter for 2 seconds, then I did another with a 3 1/2 grade filter. The paper I was using was Ilford MGIV FB.

Does the 0 or lower numbers on the filter pack effect the highlights, and the larger numbers effect the shadows?

Can you explain to me, why someone would want to split filter an image in a real, S i m p l e manner.

Any info you can share as to why, how, or what ever on split filter printing would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
    Gump in Tn.

2. eddie

eddie Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    There's a difference of opinion about the effectiveness of split filter printing. A search will turn up a bunch of threads...

I use it because I think it gives me more control over the final image, but many would argue I'm foolin' myself. The only way to know if it is for you is to try it. Start with a full sheet of paper, and do a test strip with the No.4 filter. Find the time which gives you the shadow value you want. Then, expose a full sheet with that time, and do a test strip with the No.0 on that sheet. Find the highlight value you want. Then, combine the 2. If your chosen shadow exposure is 10 seconds, and your chosen highlight exposure is 20 seconds, expose your print for 10 sec. with the 4, and 20 sec. with the 0.

3. michael_r

michael_r Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format