Stereoscopic photography

Discussion in 'Alternative Processes' started by Rob Archer, Dec 10, 2005.

1. Rob Archer

Rob Archer Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Some years ago I experimented with stereo photography, using 2 cameras (Olympus OM10s) mounted on a bar (part of an old flash bracket). I used colour slide film I used a pair of 'single-eye' type viewers, again mounted on a bar so the distance between them could be varied for different heads!. The results were amazing! I find some of the slide-pairs the other day while looking for something else and it's inspired me to have another go.

Has anybody else out there trie 3D photography and if so what gear/film did you use?

Rob

2. reellis67

reellis67 Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I have been shooting stereo with stereo cameras for about 4 years now. If you are interested in it, I would suggest a good first camera is the Stereo Realist. There is a fantastic repair guy for the realist out there as well as many stereo specific groups. Just beware, many stereo people are heavily into digital these days. If you would like specifics, just let me know.

I shoot both E-6 and print, mount my own slides, and create my own stereographs. It is easy to do and a lot of fun.

-Randy

3. reellis67

reellis67 Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Oh! I forgot to mention that there is a plethora of viewing gear out there as well, for both slide and print.

- Randy

4. 127

127 Member

Shooter:
    127 Format
    I've run a few films through my coronet stereo camera. They're cheap and fun, though the quality is pretty poor. There are some scans on my website (under cameras/coront/stereo) The 127 neg is a nice size to contact print for stereo viewing...

Ian

5. reellis67

reellis67 Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format