Student Seeking Suggestions/Advice From Advanced Photographer (35mm)

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by ashlinimartini, Aug 21, 2007.

1. ashlinimartini

ashlinimartini Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    My name is Ashley and I am a beginner with the art of photography in the most literal way. I am about to start introductory classes for digital and 35mm photography next week and hope to become a polished photographer in the future. At this point I really don't have the knowledge it takes to compare different 35mm cameras and purchase one that's best suited for my needs and level of experience. I have been browsing online now for several hours and I am getting pretty overwhelmed with all of it. I would be in a tremendous amount of debt to anyone with some experience that has some good recommendations on where to steer myself in the purchase of equipment. My goal is to end up with a 35mm camera that is reliable, has any features I will need for learning in a classroom environment, is not necessarily "top of the line" but is somewhat close and any additional things that I will be able to use throughout my career to enhance the quality of my work. I look forward to hearing what experienced artists think! Without the power of suggestion I don't think I will be able to make a choice! Thank you so much for your time, I greatly appreciate you.

2. Matthew Gorringe

Matthew Gorringe Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Don't be fooled into thinking you need an expenisve camera to make great pictures, nothing could be further from the truth.

Manual controls, mechanical operation, good choice of cheap but good quality lenses are the things you should look for. For years the standard students' camera was the Pentax K1000, I think this would be a great place for you to start.

3. copake_ham

copake_ham Inactive

Shooter:
    35mm
    Ashley,

I am much older than you but you probably know more already than I do because you are willing to ask basic questions.