Substitute for Ansco 130

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Lyn Arnold, Dec 18, 2007.

1. Lyn Arnold

Lyn Arnold Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I've been mixing and using Ansco 130 for a few years and love it for its "look" and keeping qualities as a paper developer. But the combined cost of Glycin and shipping to Australia is getting prohibitive. Can anyone suggest an alternative?

I prefer to mix my own developers rather than buying proprietary products.

Thanks in advance

Lyn

2. jim appleyard

jim appleyard Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Ethol's LPD is a fairly long-lasting dev, but I don't know if you can find it there. However, you should be able to find Dektol; lasts fairly well and should be much cheaper than glycin.

3. TheFlyingCamera

TheFlyingCamera Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Dektol won't give you the Ansco 130 look. It also doesn't last nearly as long as 130. Look around and see if you can find the Ilford Warmtone pre-mixed liquid. I know it's a proprietary developer, but it is relatively economical, and if the Ilford importer in Australia brings it in, it should be readily available.

4. PhotoJim

PhotoJim Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Nothing is really like Ansco 130, unfortunately.

Perhaps ordering larger quantities of glycin and mixing up larger quantities of stock solution (which keep for a very long time) will be your answer. I've also read that many people have had good luck freezing glycin, although I personally have not tried this. Supposedly the powder will keep years when frozen.

5. PHOTOTONE

PHOTOTONE Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    I think Ilford has actually discontinued their Warmtone developer.

6. Michel Hardy-Vallée

Michel Hardy-Vallée Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Well, given the keeping properties of Ansco 130, you could make a bigger order to amortize costs?