Super D/Aero Ektar Combo

Discussion in 'Camera Building, Repairs & Modification' started by Snowball Earth, Feb 3, 2017.

1. Snowball Earth

Snowball Earth Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm right in the middle of fitting an 178mm AE to a 3x4 Super D. Has anyone tried this?
    Yesterday I successfully bored out the inside of the camera to make room for the lens and tilts. My first lens board is very close to being like it should be but I will have make another with the hole a touch lower to better clear the mirror. John Minnicks has successfully altered the mirror to allow it to swing even at infinity, but as a portrait photographer I'm very tempted to leave that part alone and simply use the GG if I need to shoot at infinity. I may however need to find a way to prevent the mirror from crashing into the lens if I happen to be to close? Maybe a simple indicator could work? Any opinion on this?
    I've been tearing down Speed Graphics and putting them back together successfully for a long time but this thing is way way more complicated.
    Dwayne

2. EdSawyer

EdSawyer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've built a few of these type of rigs. I am working on one right now with a 4x5 RB Super D and a 8" pentac combo. I also have one like that I did with a 3x4 RB Super-D, fitted with a 4x5 Graflok back (Aka Minnicks-style aero liberator), with several different lenses.

Which is yours? (4x5 or 3x4?) I considered shortening the mirror but didn't need to when using the Pentac. That's the biggest pain-in-the-ass part of the AE/SuperD combo. Without having the mirror hit you can only get out to between 6-12ft focus distance with the AE/3x4 SuperD combo, depending on how you have the lensboard set up.