SURVEY: Edwal 12 Users' Experience

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by df cardwell, May 6, 2008.

1. df cardwell

df cardwell Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Here is an invitation to folks who have had success using Edwal 12 to share their experience here.

It’s a developer I was introduced to by an old timer when I was a very young photographer. For 40 years, I’ve used it as a limited, but special, tool in the darkroom.

But. There is a fog of hearsay, recycled gossip, and magical thinking that discourages photographers who might benefit from it's use to avoid it.

So, please post with tales of your success with Edwal 12, your technique, its limitations, and how you modify the basic formula.

WHAT isn’t really necessary is to quote recycled legend about the stuff. If you haven’t used it, give us a chance.

Gracias.

2. jd callow

jd callow Moderator Staff Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    DF,
    Why don't you go first? I've never used it, but am interested in knowing why I might want to.

3. jim appleyard

jim appleyard Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I had rotten luck with it. In fact, I had rotten luck with three devs I made with PPD; Edwal 12, one of the Sease formulas and 777. I kept getting burned-out highlights no matter how little I agitated or how much I cut back on the time. Eventually, I gave up on PPD. Some folks swear by the stuff, but I couldn't seem to get it to work.

4. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    PPD developers went out of fashion as emulsions changed, and more stable formulae appeared for commercial use based on PPD & Meritol (Meto/Pyrocatechin) instead of Glycin, or like Crawley's FX-10 and Calbe's A49 (Atomal replacement) use Hydroquinone and CD2 or similar colour developing agent.

Ian

5. df cardwell

df cardwell Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Thanks Jim.

Dr. Lowe wrote a good deal about his work,