Tank and Reel

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by TareqPhoto, Feb 19, 2010.

1. TareqPhoto

TareqPhoto Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hey all,

I have few questions:

1. Which one is recommended, the plastic tank or the steel tank?

2. Which is better, plastic reel or stainless steel reel?

3. Is it better to go with a tank that hold one 120 reel or 2-x reels? so can i develop one reel in a two-120-reels tank or it is better to develop one reel in a tank which hold 1 reel?

4. If getting a 2-3 reels [120] tank, can i develop 2-3 film rolls at once without issues [same process for the 3 rolls]?

2. chris00nj

chris00nj Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I'm a beginner as well so my answers may be less than perfect:

1. I don't think there is much of a difference. The plastic ones are cheaper but you could theoretically break them if you dropped them.
    2. The plastic reels tend to be easier to load. Remember the reels should be very dry before attempting to load
    3. Not terribly much downside to a two reel tank. You can develop one reel in a two reel tank system. I have a two reel tank and have not developed more than one roll at a time so far.
    4. The only difference I'm aware of is that if you may need slightly longer (10%) developing times when putting two reels in. Kodak recommends this for D-76 developer. Not sure if its the same with other developers.

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 19, 2010
  3. Kevin Kehler

Kevin Kehler Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Having used both stainless steel and plastic, I don't think there is a significant difference. The steel seem easier to clean but I have found that they are more susceptiable to ambiant air temperature than the plastic (If it is +30 degrees in the house, by the end of 10 minutes of developing, the temperature of the developer is no longer 20 degrees). I currently use the plastic Paterson system and have never had one break.