That auction site: THIS is why we need to be careful.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Equipment' started by dwdmguy, Nov 23, 2009.

1. dwdmguy

dwdmguy Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Read the description of this item. Read it all the way thru and then tell me what you think.
    This is why I only want to really purchase thru Apug or B&H.... I wish APUG had the auction software. But it would no doubt be a bear to manage and who want's the headache.

Anyway, read this and you'll understand the forces at work there on ebay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Nikon-Super-Coo...emQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item588472c40d

2. Shawn Rahman

Shawn Rahman Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    While I agree that I would be wary about buying equipment that has not been fully tested, this seller appears to offer a relatively reasonable return policy. Better than many on the site that say some BS like "I am not an expert" or don't offer a return at all. Also, at least they are trying to make an effort at proper disclosure (green light, missing rubber foot).

I have purchased and sold a lot of camera and other stuff on ebay, with almost all good experiences. But I agree with you that when dishing out the money for an item like this, you definitely want more assurances than what this seller has put on their ad.

3. dwdmguy

dwdmguy Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Shawn, that's just it, his return policy is based on "his description above" i.e., the light turns on, blinks and stays on. There could be over 1,000 things wrong with this and he does not have to return it.
    I use to read contracts every day so I'm really gun shy, but this takes the cake. It really does try to make someone feel comfortable that they can return it if it does not work, for any reason other then the light description. Believe me, this is hinkey. (says Abby from NCIS)

4. Ian David

Ian David Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format