The Academic Perspective?

Discussion in 'Ethics and Philosophy' started by Michel Hardy-Vallée, Jul 31, 2007.

1. Michel Hardy-Vallée

Michel Hardy-Vallée Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The "Ethics & Philosophy" discussions we have sometimes steer towards problems that scholars deal with, and sometimes I'm tempted to bring in some articles to support a point or another. I don't know if that's actually useful or a deterrent to discussion.

My own status regarding the academic world is that I'm in it. I am writing an MA thesis on graphic novels and literature, and I'm thinking about a PhD in something related, so I read quite a bit of stuff on images, literature, aesthetics, and the like. I'm not an expert, but I have a direct interest in relating what I read on the academic side with issues in photography ethics, aesthetics, etc.

I think we're primarily interested in making photography, but I would like to know whether you have any scholarly experience about it, and whether you find it makes any difference in your work. I'm also interested by the point of view of those who are not in the scholarly world, and how they perceive it.

2. AgX

AgX Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I’m not a scholar but it is interesting to sniff a bit the scents of academic hallways this way…

What kind of photography we all exercise, we don’t do it in a vacuum and it is worthwhile relating one self to such ideas. I like reading such posts, though my limited means of expression rather keep me a reader.

3. davetravis

davetravis Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Over the years, I've talked to many folks at the art shows. Most have no scholarship in art or photography.