The law - can you sell photos you have taken of peoples' belongings?

Discussion in 'Presentation & Marketing' started by ted_smith, Feb 2, 2009.

1. ted_smith

ted_smith Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi

On a regular basis I attend dog related fund raising events to raise money for dog shelters - I photograph people's dogs and sell the prints to their owners, donating the profits to the charity.

I often use the best shots on my portfolio to show what I can do and obviously the owners usually buy a print or two for themselves.

So what is the position with regards to me selling those images to other people who do not own the dogs? As long as they do not contain people, and as long as they were created in a public place, I thought I could sell them but one customer has just sent me a particular irate e-mail saying how she did not give permission to sell photos of her dog, which I have not done yet, but I was hoping to.

I thought, as a photographer, I own the copyright, and I'm able to sell any prints as long as they do not contain people. I realise for stock libraries you usually have to have a 'property release'.

Thanks

Ted

2. JBrunner

JBrunner Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    Property release is needed if sold for commercial purposes, ie advertising, book cover, etc. No release needed if sold as art. Keep in mind that is for here in the US, YMMV in the UK.

3. Ian Cooper

Ian Cooper Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format