Thermometer for Color Processing?

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by largeformat65, Oct 8, 2012.

1. largeformat65

largeformat65 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Can anyone provide a suggestion on a good thermometer for use in color film development? I have been doing black and white for 30 years and just starting to explore doing my own E-6 at home. I know temperature control and accuracy is critical so I wanted to make sure I got a good thermometer.

Thanks

2. chriscrawfordphoto

chriscrawfordphoto Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    The Kodak Process Thermometer was the best. Accurate to 1/8 degree, but they're not made anymore, discontinued years ago because it was a mercury thermometer. Scientific supply companies still sell highly accurate mercury thermometers.

3. Gerald C Koch

Gerald C Koch Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    For several years when I was processing color reversal film I used an ordinary mercury lab thermometer. Never had any problem either with density or color balance.

4. Ken Nadvornick

Ken Nadvornick Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Gerald mentions lab thermometers. Have a look at these affordable, general purpose, non-mercury lab therometers offered by ICL Calibration Laboratories, Inc. (Note that they are affordable because they are not formally calibrated and certified.)

Ken

5. Wolfeye

Wolfeye Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    I used to use a dial thermometer, a metal one with a long metal probe part and a dial for reading temp. Then I discovered it was 2 or so degrees out of calibration and went to using plain old floating darkroom thermometers. They work great but they are slowwww. I keep one in my water bath (A standard scientific lab water bath) and stick a clean one in the chem bottle to verify temp just before processing.
    DSC00144.jpg DSC00143.jpg

6. Jim17x

Jim17x Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  7. theoria

theoria Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format