Total noob to printing, need some help

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by SMG, Jan 11, 2009.

1. SMG

SMG Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    OK, so I inherited a full darkroom set from a friend and finally got the chance to try it out tonight. Total failure ensued.

I have a couple of negatives that I thought would be great to print. Seup the Beseler 23CII with the 50mm Nikkor set at f8, used my gralab to expose for 3 seconds, used a proofer to ensure that I had consistent alignment on the print. Got focus set alright with a piece of old paper turned upside down in the proofer, then turned off all the lights. Lifted the lid on the proofer and inserted a fresh sheet of print paper, emulsion side up.

Switched on the Gralab, got my three second exposure, then went dark again. Moved the print to the developer tray, filled with Ilford Multicontrast at 1:9. The print went totally black in about 10 seconds. Huh???

Noticed that there was a slide with the contrast filter not in place when I did the first exposure. Slid it into place, did all the steps again. Nothing on the paper at all. OK, hmmm. Same 3 second exposure at f8 by the way.

Ended up doing an exposure at f16 (or however stopped down that lens will go) for 1 second, to get something retained on the print after development. The white wall behind my subject was very grey, and there was not much contrast at all. I had the contrast filter pulled out by the way for this one.

So, what the heck am I doing wrong? I know that there is a multitude of things that I could be doing incorrectly, but any advise on where to start would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
    Sean

2. StevenJohn

StevenJohn Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    What kind of bulb is in the enlarger? It could be the wrong one.

3. Konical

Konical Subscriber

Good Evening, Sean,