Tri-X 320 -- suitable use?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Trask, Jan 22, 2012.

1. Trask

Trask Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    I've picked up a pro-pack of 5 rolls of 120 Tri-X 320 recently. I've never used this film before and, given that it's no longer made, I'm reluctant to shoot several rolls to try to determine what kind of lighting and subjects this film is best suited for. I understand it's excellent for people photography, and that it separates tones well in Zones 7, 8, etc.

So how do you suggest I use this film, and what developer(s) should I consider?

I appreciate any and all advice.

2. cjbecker

cjbecker Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I shoot it in 4x5 and it’s my favorite film ever. I shoot it at 200 and develop in hc-110 b (1 to 31) for 6:30.

I have only used it for portraits but that is mostly what I do.

3. wildbill

wildbill Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    how many different answers do you think you're going to get here?
    Shoot whatever you normally shoot and process it in what you normally use for a 200/400 speed film. tmax, pyro, acufine, d-76, rodinal.

4. markbarendt

markbarendt Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Just follow Kodak's directions.

5. tomalophicon

tomalophicon Member

Shooter:
    Sub 35mm
    I rate it at E.I 32 and soup it in undiluted ID-11 for 40 minutes agitating every 1 second.

6. markbarendt

markbarendt Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    :whistling: :munch:

7. Rick A

Rick A Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    WOW, those negs must be lead bricks at EI 32.

8. Wayne

Wayne Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Why all the sarcastic, unhelpful replies to an honest question?

9. michael_r

michael_r Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format