Understanding Nikon Glass

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by Derek Lofgreen, Feb 15, 2008.

1. Derek Lofgreen

Derek Lofgreen Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Okay, I need your help understanding what is what on Nikon lenses. I am buying an F4s and want to get a good all around sharp fist lens. I am new to the Nikon side of things and don't even know what to look for. What does G and D mean? AI etc.? Any help to get me started would be great.

Thanks,
    D.

2. Dave Mueller

Dave Mueller Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    D means the lens has a CPU inside that provides focus distance to the camera, used in Nikon's "3D Matrix Metering". G means it does not have a manual aperture ring, therefore it can only be used on the newer cameras. Look around, somewhere I've seen a chart that shows which lenses work with which camera, and what functions are/are not available. AI and AI-S are older lens features that I think won't matter for the F4.

3. Nick Zentena

Nick Zentena Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The MIR website has lots of info on Nikons.

First lens? The 50mm F/1.8. New it's not much money.

4. r-brian

r-brian Member

The AI and AI-S lenses are manual focus lenses. They will work on a F4. AF and AF-D are auto focus lenses. The D lenses provides distance information (thus the D) from the camera to the dedicated Nikon flash to provide a better flash exposure. I've used non-D lenses on D camera bodies with and without flash.

What first lens is a difficult answer. The 50mm f1.8 AF is a very good lens at a very good price if you like and can live with just a normal lens. Personally, I'm not a normal lens shooter. You could look for a 35-70 f2.8 AF or AF-D, an absolutely great lens.

5. copake_ham

copake_ham Inactive

Shooter:
    35mm
    I agree. I have this zoom and can attest that it is a great shooter.