Up here in rainy Portland Oregon.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by dpurdy, Dec 15, 2007.

1. dpurdy

dpurdy Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    I guess I'll introduce myself though I have been imposing my 2cents worth quite a bit already. I just subscribed today. I wasn't going to because I did the math and figured that if everybody subscribed the owner would be getting paid way too much money, so some people have to free load. But I have come to be interested in several people that hang out here and I wanted to look at their photos and you have to pay to do that.

I studied photography in a couple of California schools back in the 1970s and haven't done anything but photography since, which is basically my whole responsible adult life.

I moved up to Portland in 1979 and took a short term job as a color printer then went to work in a commercial studio doing table top stuff for about 10 years after which I went to work on my own in my own studio and tried to convert my self to art photography while supporting myself with commercial work and custom lab work.

I am pretty much still in that phase though now I live with a woman in a long term relationship and I have a killer dark room in the basement and only go to the studio when I need to.

My interests/obsessions now are Rolleiflex talk and darkroom talk. My most serious work is LF in pt/pd though I am not really interested in talking about that stuff as I figure even though I have done it for 25 years I am still not an expert. It masters me more than I it. I love getting out and shooting with the Rollei and making little silver prints but I don't create much of a stir with that kind of work. Just another one of the millions of photographers adding prints to the unending mountain of prints in the world.